Abduction or Rapture

Abduction7

All this spiritual talk makes my head spin.
This celestial man, daimonic spirit, Jesus, he could be an alien for all I know.
I feel dizzy.  I want to lie down.

I walk up the stairs to my room and lie down on the bed.  “Daemon” follows me.  I can feel his presence.  I am not afraid.  I know he cares and won’t hurt me.  I feel compassion coming from him.  I close my eyes.  My mind goes blank.  I relax and let the drowsiness take over.

At this moment something strange happens.  I have the impression that he is… doing something.  He comes very close.  I feel like he’s… entering my body!  My skin starts to tingle and all of my insides start to shiver.  Every cell in my body is being touched and stirred.  I cannot open my eyes.  I am immobilized!  It feels funny, like I’m disintegrating.  I never felt like this before.  It’s wonderfully bizarre.  What is happening?  Am I being violated?  I think I’m losing my mind.  I’m being lifted up, off the bed!  Oh my God, it’s an abduction!

I’m scared so I try to force a scream out of my mouth and suddenly my eyes open.  Somehow I manage to break the force field that is holding me down.  I gather all my strength and regain control of my body.  I push myself off the bed and look around.  There is no one in the room but me.  Everything is in its proper place, nothing has moved.  He’s not here, and not in the closet either.  I run downstairs and stop at the foot of the stairs.  Where is he?  I look to the right, then to the left.  There is no one in the kitchen, nor in the living room.  I run outside and look above the roof of the house to see if there is a spaceship.  All I see is a blue sky.

Maybe he’s hiding in the basement.  I run back inside the house and all the way down the stairs.  I stop to catch my breath.  All is silent.  I look ahead and see the poster that is hanging on the wall.  It catches my attention.  I stand in front of it and cannot stop staring.

This one:

Abduction8

It’s a poster my wife and I bought eleven years ago, during our honeymoon.  I can’t stop looking at the girl, her face, her posture.  At the bottom is the name BOUGUEREAU in big letters.  Just above it, in very small print, something is written, the title and the year:  The Abduction of Psyche, 1895.

Abduction?  That word…  I just…  I can’t believe it.  I’m so surprised.  I step back and look at the poster again.  They have wings!  He is not an alien, he’s an angel.  It’s the picture of an angelic guy abducting a girl who has butterfly wings.  They are flying up in the air.  He seems to know where they are going.  She is floating, free, completely taken over, on cloud nine, blissful, gone.

Oh my God!  This is insane.  I hung this poster there over 10 years ago and all I ever saw in it was a young couple in love.  And today I realize that the picture represents, of all things, an abduction!

The Spirit tried to rapture me.  He said we had to fuse together.  He wasn’t joking.

What’s going on here?

metamorphosis

4 thoughts on “Abduction or Rapture”

Leave a comment