Detachment

Detachment

I never thought the word detachment would become so meaningful to me.

The state of being detached or disconnected.

Absence of inclination towards something.

Inability to connect with others emotionally.

Indifference to the concerns of others.

I’m sure Psychology regards this as a mental illness.  Let’s see…  Yes, here it is:  dissociation, depersonalization and derealization.

Dissociation is a defense mechanism where certain thoughts are compartmentalized in order to avoid emotional stress to the conscious mind.  Check.

Depersonalization is the loss of one’s sense of personal identity.  A feeling of being unreal, detached or unable to feel emotion.  Check.

Derealization is the psychological symptom in which the world appears to be unreal, and the patient has a sense of detachment from it.  Oh yes, double-check that one.

Bravo.  Three more diseases to add to my list.

But there is another definition of the word which I find most interesting.  In the military (which I hate by the way), a detachment is the separation of a unit from the main body for particular purpose or a special mission.

Ha! ha!  In your face, Psychology!  Life has put me aside for a particular purpose to accomplish a special mission.  Oh yeah.

Now if only I can find out what it is…
Perhaps I should join the military…

Fuck that, I’ll stick with levitation.

2 thoughts on “Detachment”

  1. I agree, fuck the military, although I do like seamen, wait that sounded funny.
    What I do like is that definition “detachment is the separation of a unit from the main body for particular purpose or a special mission” and how I believe, or hope that is how you are understanding and exploring yourself.
    Homeland security ain’t got nothing on you 🙂
    Harlon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

