Family Won’t Budge

 

same old way

How does family react to personal transformation?  Not very well, I’m afraid.  Seems like the role of the family is to make sure nothing ever changes.

I’ve been very isolated with my thoughts lately.  I don’t socialize very much.  When you are depressed, you don’t want to see anyone.  I use my depression to transform my inner self.

I’ve been getting messages from my family members.  “We miss you!” they say.

How sweet.

This was my response to them.  I don’t know if it was rude or what, but it was the truth:
“You miss the old me.  Well let me tell you, the old me is dead.  The brother you once knew no longer exists.  I buried him.  You won’t ever see him again.”

Their reply was like…  WTF?

Next, they tried to offer help.

So I told them about metamorphosis (personal transformation).

How does family react to depression and to personal transformation?  They are scared shit!  They don’t want to lose me.  They are doing everything they can to keep me from changing.  They want me to be the same guy I was before.  How do you deal with that?

At the moment I am avoiding them.  More introspection.  Asking myself what is happening.  If the change is positive, then why are they reacting like this?  Of course, all they see is a guy locked up inside his cocoon.  They can’t see what is happening inside.  Even though I tried to explain to them, the more I try to explain, the worse it gets.  Now a couple of them seem to think that I am possessed.  That’s right, possessed by an evil spirit!

I am possessed, by the spirit of transformation and I decided to let it happen.  Sorry, dear family, but if you can’t accept it, that’s not my problem.  I just wish you could understand, and perhaps strive to transform yourselves too.

Maybe one day I will give them access to my blog, a few minutes before I die.

2 thoughts on “Family Won’t Budge”

  1. HAHAHA! ..possessed….

    I am pretty much dealing with the same situation. My family does not understand me, never have. They say I’m “brainwashed” because I have chosen to take my own path with my own beliefs while learning things for myself instead of just doing what others always do – follow the leader. Well, what happens when the leader takes the wrong path? His herd goes blindly along with him. I refuse to be blind, so I broke away from the herd… and now I must ask, who’s the one who is brainwashed?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

