Blogging Objectives

I started this blog less than 2 weeks ago.

I’m not totally new to blogging.  In the last 10 years I started two blogs, plus two websites.  But they didn’t amount to anything.

I think the problem is not sticking with my objectives.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot during the last 2 days.  Is this blog going to die like my others ones?

One of the problems is distractions.  During the first week I received many messages from the system, just like all of you did.  Here’s a short list:

– You’ve made your first post!
– June 24:  Your best day for follows on your blog!
– You’ve received 5 likes!
– June 27: Your best day for likes!
– June 27: Your best day for follows!
– You’ve received 5 follows!
– You’ve received 10 likes!
– This person liked you post!
– 3 others liked your post!
– You’ve made 5 posts!
– This person commented on your post!
– 9 others liked your post!
– You’ve received 10 follows!
– You’ve received 20 likes!
– July 1: Your best day for follows!
– This person liked your comment!
– 2 others like your post!
etc.

This is all very nice, but…  it feels like I’m playing a video game.  It’s as if this was some sort of competition, where I’m trying to accumulate points, admiration and followers.  This was not my objective when I started, and now I have this voice in my head that says: “You need more likes!  You need more posts!  You need more followers!”

So now I have to pause and think (I love to pause and think).  🙂

I’m losing track of my objectives.  What was my goal when I started this blog?  I entitled it metamorphosis.  This is what I wanted to talk about.  Now, with the Reader, the messages and all, my mind is all over the place.  I get the impression that I’m not going to win this game.

I woke up exhausted this morning and I wondered why.  It seemed like my mind had been working all night.  Next, I thought about my blog and asked myself where I was going with it.

Then this phrase came to me:  “Remove the things that are not consistent with your objectives.”

Wow!  Nice one.  This applies to my whole life in general!

I will remove the things that are not consistent with my objectives.

Starting right now.

Leave a Reply

